Crohn's & Colitis Foundation - Northwest Chapter
9 Lake Bellevue Drive, Suite 203
Bellevue, WA 98005
425-451-1708 FAX 

Welcome to the Crohn's & Colitis Foundation, Northwest Chapter! We serve Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana and Alaska.

Staff Contacts:

Jennifer O'Connor
Area Executive Director

Kathleen Waite
Education & Support Manager
Kristen Baxter
Community Development Manager - Oregon
Walk Manager - Portland and Alaska
Emma Croston
Development Director
Nicole Kittelson
Endurance Manager - Seattle
Mallory Cwik
Take Steps Walk Manager

Ashley Biehl
Development Assistant

Crohn's & Colitis Foundation Northwest Chapter Board of Trustees

  • Chase Carpenter, Microsoft - Board President
  • Chris Adams, Listen Hear Media
  • Anita Afzali, MD, MPH, UW Harborview Medical Center
  • Tyson Chaplin, Chaplin's Automotive Group
  • Carin Cunningham, PhD, Seattle Children's Hospital
  • Pamela Eakes, Community Advocate
  • Lisa Judah, Community Advocate
  • Jason Harper, MD, Swedish Medical Center
  • Alvin Loh, Jobvention
  • James Lord, MD, PhD, Benaroya Research Institute at Virginia Mason
  • Mark Murray, PhD, Tekmira Pharmaceuticals - Past Board President
  • Teresa Nelson, TNMultisports 
  • Charles Peterson, MD, Seattle Orthopedic Center
  • Joe Silvernale, Perkins Coie
  • Jenn White, Nordstrom

Chapter Medical Advisory Committee
The Crohn's & Colitis Foundation, Northwest Chapter is proud to have two robust committees of healthcare providers serving on its Chapter Medical Advisory Committees (CMACs), led by chairs Anita Afzali, MD, MPH in Seattle and Nir Modiano, MD, PhD in Portland. These individuals provide Foundation staff with invaluable support including insight on issues that are important to their patients, directing their patients to take advantage of the Foundation's services, and act as local liaisons for planning events in their communities. The chairs ensure that value is returned to members in the form of education opportunities, public recognition, and ongoing engagement and appreciation. 

The Northwest Chapter would like to recognize the following individuals currently serving on our CMAC and thank them for their true dedication and support of the Foundation's mission:

Name Last Suffix Center City State
Anita Afzali MD, MPH University of Washington Medical Center Seattle WA
Karlee Ausk MD Swedish Gastroenterology Seattle WA
Elisa Boden MD Virginia Mason Medical Center Seattle WA
Michael Chiorean MD Virginia Mason Medical Center Seattle WA
Matthew Cole MD Group Health Seattle WA
Jonah Essers MD, MPH Swedish Medical Center Seattle WA
Alessandro Fichera MD UW Medical Center, Colorectal Surgery Seattle WA
Rohit Gupta MD Mary Bridge Children's Hospital Tacoma WA
Jason Harper MD Swedish Medical Center Seattle WA
Peggy Headstrom MD The Polyclinic Seattle WA
William Holderman MD Digestive Health Specialists Tacoma WA
Anjali Kumar MD Virginia Mason Medical Center, Colorectal Surgery Seattle WA
Steven Larson MD Franciscan Digestive Care Associates Tacoma WA
Dale Lee MD Seattle Children's Hospital Seattle WA
Scott Lee MD UW Medical Center Seattle WA
Arnold Levin MD Eastside Gastroenterology Kirkland WA
James Lord MD, PhD Virginia Mason Medical Center Seattle WA
Uma Pisharody MD Swedish Pediatric Specialty Care Seattle WA
Steven Rulyak MD The Polyclinic Seattle WA
Bruce Silverman MD Gastroenterology Associates, LLP Olympia WA
David Suskind MD Seattle Children's Seattle WA
Teresa Wachs RN Seattle Children's Seattle WA
Ghassan Wahbeh MD Seattle Children's Seattle WA
Duane Webb MD Olympic Medical Center Sequim WA
Betty White ARNP Digestive Health Specialists Tacoma WA
Shira Wilson MA Seattle Wellness Counseling Seattle WA
Timothy Zisman MD, MPH UW Medical Center Seattle WA

Greater Portland Area Chapter Medical Advisory Committee:

  • Chair: Nir Modiano, MD, PhD - Oregon Heath & Science University  
  • Judith Collins, MD - Oregon Heath & Science University
  • Jason Etzel, MD - The Vancouver Clinic
  • David Grunkemeier, MD - The Oregon Clinic
  • Erica Heagy, FNP - The Oregon Clinic
  • Stephanie Hill, RN - OHSU
  • Kian Keyashian, MD - Oregon Health & Science University 
  • Donald Lum, MD - The Oregon Clinic
  • Rebecca Matro, MD - Oregon Health & Science University
  • Linda Muir, MD - Doernbecher Pediatric Gastroenterology
  • Tina Patnode, RD - The Oregon Clinic
  • Swapna Reddy, MD - The Oregon Clinic
  • Harald Schoeppner, MD, PhD - Legacy Medical Group - Gastroenterology
  • Davis Sim, MD, PhD - Eugene Gastroenterology
  • Liana Tsikitis, MD - OHSU Surgery
  • Amy Wang, MD - Kaiser