Welcome to the South Texas Chapter!  We proudly serve southern and central Texas, funding research, raising awareness, and providing education and support to IBD patients.

There are many ways to get involved with our chapter.  Learn about our Take Steps Houston, Take Steps Austin and Team Challenge programs, find an event near you, or get connected to a support group.

Staff Contacts:

Chapter Contact Information
5120 Woodway, Suite 8008
Houston, TX 77056
Phone: (713) 572-2232
Fax: (713) 572-2433
Email: stexas@crohnscolitisfoundation.org
Jennifer Conaway
Executive Director
(713) 772-2232, Extension 1
Email: jconaway@crohnscolitisfoundation.org

Laura Stein
Development Manager
Special Events and Winter Ball
(713) 572-2232, Extension 4
Email:  lstein@crohnscolitisfoundation.org

Katie Brown
Administrative Coordinator
(713) 572-2232, Extension 3
Email:  kbrown@crohnscolitisfoundation.org

Theresa Spiess
Community Development Manager
(210) 620-5875
Email: tspiess@crohnscolitisfoundation.org

Alicia Barron
Regional Education and Support Manager
(713) 572-2232, Extension 6
Email:  abarron@crohnscolitisfoundation.org

Leigh Ellen Key
Interim Take Steps - Houston
(713) 572-2232 Extension 2
Email: lekey@crohnscolitisfoundation.org

Derek Dodson
Take Steps - Austin/San Antonio
(817) 629-3832
Email:  ddodson@crohnscolitisfoundation.org

Houston Leadership Board

Brock Wagner
Chapter Board President, Founder & CEO, Saint Arnold Brewing Company 

Karen Arnold

Jeff Barr
Associate, Goldman Sachs; Rice University Capstone Project Graduate

Kevin Carter
District Manager, Kohl's

Tim Goedeker
Environmental Director, Phillips 66

Dr. Jason Hou
Gastrolenterologist, Baylor College of Medicine

Shawn Luna
Market Leader, Branch Banking & Trust

Mary Jones
Consultant and Mechanical Engineer 

Sharon Owens
Owner and Operator of La Maison; Vice President of Corporate Community Relations, CenterPoint Energy; Woman of Distinction

Louis Provenzano,
Owner, Proagency; Houston Theatre Company

Lisa Richardson
Co-owner State Farm Insurance; Volunteer, Philanthropist, Woman of Distinction

Helen Shaffer
Volunteer, Philanthropist, Woman of Distinction

Melody Smith
Senior Accountant, GDF Suez Energy

Elizabeth Stein
Volunteer, Philanthropist, Woman of Distinction 

Donna Tyler
Vice President-Private Banking, Frost Bank

Dr. Seema Mehta Walsh
Gastroenterologist, Baylor College of Medicine

Phillis Williams
Founder and CEO of Birdiewear, Philanthropist, Woman of Distinction

San Antonio Leadership Board 

Sean Horne, Board President
SVP Safety and Training, Valero

Mark Gilger, MD
Pediatrician-in-Chief, The Children's Hospital of San Antonio

James Noel, MD
Pediatric Gastroenterologist, The Children's Hospital of San Antonio

Marty Schrack
Marketing Director, Kens5

Karen Smith
Volunteer and Philanthropist

Emily Stroup
Associate at Upton, Mickits & Heymann, LLP

Chapter Medical Advisory Committee

Bincy P Abraham, MD, Chairman
Houston Methodist

Jason K Hou, MD, Co-Chair
Baylor College of Medicine

Seema Mehta Walsh, MD, Co-Chairman
Texas Children's Hospital

Andrew DuPont, MD
UT-Houston Medical School

Atilla Ertan, MD
UT-Houston Medical School

Keith Fiman, MD
Gastroenterology Consultants SW

Francisco Garcia-Torres, MD, Chair Emeritus
Kelsey-Seybold Clinic

Mark Gilger, MD, Chair Emeritus
Pediatrician-in-Chief, The Children's Hospital of San Antonio

Sherilyn Gordon Burroughs, MD
Houston Methodist

Eric M Haas, MD
Colorectal Surgeon, Houston Methodist

Joseph W Holland, Jr., MD
Southeast Texas Gastroenterology Association

Manreet Kaur, MD
Baylor College of Medicine

Deborah Keller, MD
Colorectal Surgeon, Houston Methodist

Richard Kellermayer, MD
Pediatric Gastroenterolgy, Texas Children's Hospital

Kristi King, RD, LD
Pediatric Dietician, Texas Children's Hospital

Michael J. Krier, MD
Brooke Army Medical Center/San Antonio Military Medical Center

Pradeep Kumar, MD
Austin Gastroenterology

Amanda B Morrill, PA-C
Houston Methodist

Timmothy P. Pfanner, MD
Scott & White - Temple

Jose Rubin Rodriguez, MD
Texas Children's Hospital

A. Carl Schmulen, MD
Houston Methodist

Gabrielle Seekely, M Ed, LPC-S, BCPC
Executive, Business and Life Coach for EWomenNetword

Joseph H. Sellin, MD, Chair Emeritus
Baylor College of Medicine

Rajesh Shah, MD
Baylor College of Medicine

John R. Strehlein, MD
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

David Thompson, MD
Park Plaza Hospital and Medical Center

James Versalovic, MD, PhD
Pathologist, Texas Children's Hospital

Barry D Winston, MD
North Houston GI Associates

Karen L. Woods, MD
Houston Methodist

Theodoros Voloyiannis, MD
Memorial Hermann Medical Group

Julie Weatherly, RN, MSN, ANP-C
Baylor College of Medicine

Lee Winderman, Ph.D.
Psychologist, Houston Family Institute