Lloyd Mayer, M.D. Career Development Award

This award is in honor of Lloyd Mayer, MD (1952-2013), a visionary leader and brilliant scientist whose life was dedicated to finding cures for patients with IBD and improving the quality of life of those suffering from these diseases. For almost 30 years, Dr. Mayer was the driving force behind the Crohn's & Colitis Foundation's research programs, leading and innovating new ideas to move the field forward. He was especially passionate about bringing young investigators into the IBD field and supporting their career development.

Early in his career, Dr. Mayer made groundbreaking and truly transformative discoveries elucidating the role of T cell regulation of B cell responses and identifying specific defects that were associated with human immune deficiencies. Subsequently, Dr. Mayer's laboratory focused on mucosal immune regulation in inflammatory bowel diseases with a major emphasis on the role of intestinal epithelial cells in regulating T-cell responses and tolerance in the gut. He and his team were the first to show that the epithelial lining of the intestine was an active regulator of mucosal immune responses and that this regulation was distinct from systemic immunity. Dr. Mayer's scientific passion and life's work was to identify basic immune alterations in patients with IBD that would directly lead to novel therapies impacting clinical care.

Dr. Mayer was a dedicated and awe-inspiring teacher, mentor, and colleague to many IBD researchers worldwide and a staunch friend to the Foundation. His passion, leadership, scientific expertise, and commitment to improving the lives of our patients will be a legacy.

Objective: The Lloyd Mayer Career Development Award is intended to encourage the development of individuals with research potential to help them prepare for a career of independent basic, translational, and/or clinical investigation in the area of inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD). The ideal candidate for this award will be an exceptional early career scientist who emulates Dr. Mayer's passion for innovative research in studying IBD immunology and mucosal health, as well as his commitment to fostering a robust IBD research community through leadership and collaboration.

Applicant Eligibility: Individuals who are already well established in the field of IBD research are not considered eligible for this award. At the time of application, applicants must be employed by an institution (public non-profit, private non-profit, or government) engaged in health care and/or health related research within the United States. Research is not restricted by citizenship; however, proof of legal work status is required. Applicants must hold an MD and/or PhD (or equivalent degree). Candidates holding MD degrees must have five years of post-doctoral experience—two years of which must be documented research experience relevant to IBD. Applicants holding PhDs must have at least two years of documented post-doctoral research relevant to IBD. Generally, the candidates must not be in excess of ten years beyond the attainments of the doctoral degree.

Proposal Eligibility: Proposal MUST be relevant to IBD (Crohn's disease and/or ulcerative colitis). Only one application is allowed per applicant per submission date. Simultaneous submission of a Senior Research Award and a Training Award is not permitted.

Time Commitment: Awardees must devote a minimum of 80% of his/her professional time directly to the project.

Stipend & Institutional Allowance: Award salary will match applicants’ institutional salary (salaries may be supplemented by the applicants’ institution), depending on postgraduate year (PGY) level, up to $52,000 per year. Fringe benefits are allowed according to institutional policies, but must not exceed 25% of the salary award (up to $13,000 per year). The Foundation will also provide up to $25,000 to be used for non-salary/fringe expenses such as an MPH degree or equivalent tuition (all degrees must be completed within the three years of this award), statistical support, travel to professional meetings, professional memberships and textbooks. These funds may not be used to supplement awardees’ salary/fringe benefits.

  • Salary: up to $52,000 per year
  • Fringe: 10% of salary, or up to $13,000 per year
  • Non-salary / fringe expenses: up to $25,000 per year
  • Duration of Award: One to Three Years
  • Total maximum award per year: $90,000 (subject to annual progress report approval).

****Before submitting a Letter of Intent or a Full Proposal, please view the Award Policies (.pdf) and Instructions (.pdf).

How to apply: As part of your submission, you will need to write a 250-word essay on how your candidacy relates to this opportunity. This can be submitted, along with the rest of your application, though the Proposal Central system for grant submissions. If you have never registered with proposal central, click on "first time user." This will generate a confirmation number which will be emailed to you. Confirm your registration by submitting your confirmation number when prompted. Once you are a registered user, click on "grants opportunities" on the far right of the page, then select the Lloyd Mayer grant. All instructions and policies are available at this site. Please direct any grants related questions to grants@ccfa.org or call (646) 943-7501.

Spring/Summer Deadline Dates

  • Letter of Intent – November 1st
  • Online Application Submission Deadline  - January 14th @ 5PM Eastern (Paper application must be postmarked no later than January 14th)
  • Review  – April through May
  • Start Date for Selected Projects – July 1st

Fall/Winter Deadline Dates

  • Letter of Intent – May 1st @ 5PM Eastern
  • Online Application Submission Deadline – July 1st @ 5PM Eastern (Paper application must be postmarked no later than July 1st)
  • Review  – September through October
  • Start Date for Selected Projects – January 1st