2019 Women of Distinction Awards Luncheon

#PartyWithAPurpose: This isn’t your average group of ladies who lunch. The women honored during the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation’s 11th annual Women of Distinction event on Friday afternoon came prepared to inspire and ignite a movement to support those living with this debilitating disease. “I was tired when I arrived, but the energy of this room has me feeling like I can run a marathon. That’s the power of community,” said honoree Janera Solomon, executive director of the Kelly Strayhorn Theater. Guest speaker Rhonda Bolding, who has lived with the disease since childhood, was optimistic about the future. “I truly believe we can find a cure in my lifetime,” she said. Often stigmatized, the disease can be isolating for so many, even though it impacts more than 3 million Americans. Ms. Bolding added: “Building a community is a breath of life for those suffering with this disease, and it is important that we own this space and advocate so that we can find a cure.” Added Executive Director Eric Hecker, “For every dollar we raise, 80 cents goes directly to research. This disease doesn’t define who people are, and nothing can stop us from continuing the fight.” To learn more: https://www.crohnscolitisfoundation.org/.

#SEEN: Honorees Rebecca Harris and Carolyn Duronio, event co-chairs Lynn Banaszak and Mike Capsambelis; Domenic Dozzi, Juli Lawrence, Vivian Benter, Jeremy Resnick, Kannu Sahni, Lois Wholey, Debra Caplan, Lynne Popash, Bob Magill, Kate Colligan, Rachel Blaufeld, Orlana Darkins Drewery, Annalee Tomak, Denise Smalley, Desiree Lee, Sheila Fine, Dr. David Finegold, David Harris, Kathy Lachenauer, Sally McCrady, Roslyn Neiman, Latasha Batch, Kevin Bolding, Diana Bucco, Randi Sigal, Dr. Christina Wilds, and Laura Miller.

Crohn's & Colitis Foundation

The Crohn's & Colitis Foundation is a non-profit, volunteer-fueled organization dedicated to finding the cures for Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, and to improving the quality of life of children and adults affected by these diseases. It was founded in 1967 by Irwin M. and Suzanne Rosenthal, William D. and Shelby Modell, and Henry D. Janowitz, M.D.