Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation Names New Board Chair, Elects Three New Trustees

NEW YORK, NY – The Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation announced today that Dr. Brent Polk (University of California San Diego) has been appointed Chair of its national Board of Trustees, and that three new trustees have been elected to the Board. The Foundation’s Board of Trustees oversees the management of the organization’s policies, practices, principles, affairs, funds, and property.

“Dr. Polk has been a valued member of the Foundation’s scientific leadership for many years. As past chair of our National Scientific Advisory Committee, Dr. Polk helped lead our Challenges in IBD Research process, identifying unmet patient needs and helping set a robust research agenda to move the Foundation forward,” said Michael Osso, President & CEO of the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation. “This is an exciting time for the Foundation, and I know with Dr. Polk’s guidance, we will make great strides toward achieving our vision of a future free from inflammatory bowel disease.” 

Dr. Polk is chief of the Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition at Rady Children's Hospital-San Diego and executive vice chair for the Department of Pediatrics and professor of pediatrics at UC San Diego School of Medicine. Joining Dr. Polk on the Board are three new trustees: 

  • Annette Martinez, CLU, ChFC, CPCU, Senior Vice President, State Farm Insurance Companies
  • Jeffrey Mittleman, Senior Vice President & Partner, Holland & Knight
  • Armin Rahmanian, COO of Richard M. Ross Heart Hospital and Associate Executive Director at University Hospital

“Each of our new trustees has demonstrated exceptional commitment to the Foundation’s mission to find cures for IBD and improve patient quality of life,” said Dr. Polk. “We are pleased to welcome these extraordinary individuals to the Foundation’s national leadership.”

Crohn's & Colitis Foundation

The Crohn's & Colitis Foundation is a non-profit, volunteer-fueled organization dedicated to finding the cures for Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, and to improving the quality of life of children and adults affected by these diseases. It was founded in 1967 by Irwin M. and Suzanne Rosenthal, William D. and Shelby Modell, and Henry D. Janowitz, M.D.