SPARC IBD—Study of a Prospective Adult Research Cohort with IBD—is a multicentered longitudinal study of adult IBD patients, which will collect and link clinical data, patient-reported outcome data, and serial biosamples through the course of the patients' disease. Data and samples will then be used for basic, clinical, and translational research with the goal of finding predictors of response to therapy and predictors of relapse that will lead to precision medicine strategies and new therapeutic targets that will improve the quality of life of patients with IBD.  

When fully enrolled, SPARC will follow 7,000 well-characterized (phenotyped) adult patients, integrating their clinical data and self-reported outcome data and collecting serial biosamples over the course of their disease.

Samples can be used for basic, clinical, and translational research:

  • Comparative effectiveness research
  • Hypothesis/evidence generation
  • Drug targets and biomarkers discovery

View publications from the SPARC IBD initiative.

Study Lead Co-Principal Investigators

  • James D. Lewis, MD, MSCE – University of Pennsylvania, PA
  • Laura E. Raffals, MD, MS – Mayo Clinic, MN

Participating SPARC IBD Sites

Baylor College of Medicine, TX

  • Manreet Kaur, MD
  • Richa Shukla, MD

Baylor University Medical Center, TX

  • Themistocles Dassopoulos, MD
  • Katerina Wells, MD, MPH

Brigham & Women’s Hospital, MA

  • Scott B. Snapper, MD, PhD
  • Joshua R. Korzenik, MD

Indiana University Hospital, IN

  • Matthew Bohm, MD
  • Monika Fischer, MD
  • Sashi V. Sagi, MD

Mayo Clinic, MN

  • Laura E. Raffals, MD, MS

Medical College of Wisconsin, WI

  • Poonam Beniwal-Patel, MD

NYU Langone Medical Center, NY

  • David P. Hudesman, MD

University of Alabama Medicine, AL

  • Kirk Russ, MD

University of Cincinnati Medical Center, OH

  • Loren Brook, MD

University of Chicago, IL

  • Joel Pekow, MD

University of Maryland, MD

  • Raymond K. Cross, MD, MS
  • Uni Wong, MD

University of Michigan, MI

  • Shrinivas Bishu, MD

University of Pennsylvania, PA

  • Meenakshi Bewtra, MD, MPH, PhD
  • James D. Lewis, MD, MSCE

University of Pittsburgh, PA

  • Richard H. Duerr, MD

University of Wisconsin, WI

  • Sumona Saha, MD, MS
  • Freddy Caldera, DO

Vanderbilt University Medical Center, TN

  • Elizabeth Scoville, MD, MSCI
  • Keith Wilson, MD

Washington University School of Medicine, MO

  • Matthew Ciorba, MD
  • Parakkal Deepak, MBBS, MS